New workstation

Yesterday was the last day I worked at level 15th. So much has happened there, my ups and downs. Kinda sad to leave that place, after almost 3 years working there. Yep, I’ve been there for exactly 2 years and 11 months. I started working at Pru on 14/4/2005. Tempus fugit
I still remember the first stay I came to work. Reached office at around 8.30am. Met my first TL, TPS and fellow workstation neighbours, KWC and GOH. Haha…nostalgic.
Nothing much change except that life is very hectic nowadays. During normal weekdays, reaching home around 9-10pm is a normal thing and just barely have time to read newspaper. Yep, after my pc RIP already, newspaper and music from Lite.FM are my only entertainment at home.
Sometimes I do feel tired of this kind of life, day in day out (or night in night out since I often drive with the headlights on; before sunrise and after sunset), things seems to be status quo…normal…nothing change…trapped in a vicious cycle of life. Round and round, like a Ferris wheel, up and down but still in the same circle.
Ironically I’m not the type who can accept changes easily. I mean if I were to be given a choice, I would prefer that there’s no changes. However, changes are inevitable. Life can be very "fluid". Here today, gone tomorrow. (Like the result of our recent GE??? ) Nevertheless, like it or not, this is beyond human control. We are mere mortal anyway. If we cannot change our environment, then we have to change according to our environment. Either we adapt to it or get out from it (no, I’m not advocating suicide but to seek for a another environment, escape/flee/migrate)
IMHO, not all changes can be negative but change is definitely not equal to improvement. In order to make it to be an improvement, I think we need to make the best use of it (manipulate it? erm, kinda strong word for it). For starter, we can try to see it from different angles. Things look different if we viewed it from a different angle. Then may be we can list down the pros and cons of the change. No point to compare them, whether we have more pros or cons because the change has already taken place. Then we can try to highlight/focus/improve on the pros and minimize the cons. I wouldn’t suggest to eliminate the cons (as I believe most things in life, most cons cannot be do away with) but may be we can embrace it? Accept it with open heart? Most probably we would be dissappointed/let down by the cons but hey, we are human anyway. Humans have emotions and it’s normal. Not a psycho but it would be unhealthy if we let these kind of feelings to linger in our heart, forever be the phantoms of the past.
There are countless of self-help/motivation books out there on this subject; change. However they are pretty useless if we don’t practise what they taught. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New workstation

  1. Chin Yang says:

    Got to know of ur blog only after such a long time.
     
    Can\’t agree more on the inevitable changes in life. I hope in your repetitive life u find advancement and seek for goals be it in personal life or work. 
     
    Whatever u are looking for which was lost to you, I hope u find. If it\’s something not meant for you, I hope you find the courage to move on. (I think this is refering to an earlier post).
     
      

Leave a comment